Hirsh Award

The CS-SIS is pleased to announce Debbie Ginsberg is this year’s winner of the CS-SIS Kenneth J. Hirsh Award.

This award honors a CS-SIS member who has made outstanding contributions to the SIS, to AALL, and who is well regarded for his or her service to the profession. The inaugural award recipient was Ken Hirsh, in whose honor the award is named.

Debbie Ginsberg is the Educational Technology Librarian at IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law Library.  Debbie was elected to the CS-SIS board as Member at Large in 2005.  In 2009, Debbie was elected as Vice Chair, before serving as Chair in 2010-11.  In addition, Debbie has presented at AALL and CALI.  She coordinated the first Web 2.0 Challenge with Bonnie Shucha and Meg Kribble.  Debbie currently contributes to the Law School Ed Tech Blog and the Law School Tech Talk podcast.  She has authored numerous articles including Intercultural Reciprocity, Information Ethics, and the Survival of Librarianship in the 21st Century with Bill Crowley and Inspiring Innovation: Planning, Implementing and Evaluating the Web 2.0 Challenge, also with Meg Kribble and Bonnie Shucha.